Australia's Sustainable House Day Kicks Off This Weekend

Share

Sustainable House Day begins this weekend. Organized by Renew, the event has been a way for Australian green homeowners to open their doors to visitors and show off their sustainable houses for more than 20 years. Due to COVID, this year’s event will be virtual, which means people from around the world now have the opportunity to tour these homes and take part in a program that will include sessions on design, building, and renovating. A session focusing on Passive House principles will be hosted by Kylie Mills, Director of Australian Passive House Association.

It may be difficult for those of us in North America or Europe to enjoy the entire program (see time translation below), but we still can view some of the 176 homes from across Australia taking part in the virtual tour. These videos are available online and can be watched now. Some, such as the Sapphire Passive House, Thornleigh Passive House, Passiv Laneway, are certified Passive House homes. Others are not, but may still contain features through which designers and building scientists can find inspiration.

The Sustainable House Day program begins at 9:45 am (AEST) and runs until about 6 pm.

Translation:

  • Central European Time: Sunday, 12:45 am – 9:00 am
  • UTC: Saturday, 11:45 pm – 8:00 am (Sunday)
  • Eastern: Saturday, 7:45 pm – 4:00 am (Sunday)
  • Pacific: Saturday, 4:45 pm – 1:00 am (Sunday)

To register, click here.

Six additional sessions will follow later in the week, including Passive House for Everyone, which is being put on by Sanctuary magazine and the Australian Passive House Association. Speakers will include Andy Marlow (Passivhaus Design & Construct and Envirotecture), Simone Schenkel (Gruen Eco Design), Ben Caine (Leanhaus), and Burkhard Hansen (CarbonLite).

To register for Passive House Everyone, click here.

Weekly Newsletter

Get the latest passive house news, trends, & insights delivered straight to your email inbox.